Lane Takes 5 with Barbara Jean

Hi there, guys and dolls! Well, June’s now almost over the moon and you kn81-k9LgXf9L._SL1500_ow what that means – another installment of my favorite posts – Take 5. This month, yours truly is chatting away with Lane Stone, a lovely and savvy lady who’s got flair and sass to spare! Among her other works, she is a fellow Cozy Cat Press author, penning the Tiara Investigations Mystery Series. Her second and latest release is DOMESTIC AFFAIRS, with more to come. So settle on in, perhaps with a little cool sweet tea (make it a happy hour one if you like) and a cookie or two, and get to know my good friend Lane.

1. So tell me a little about your series and main characters.

I write the Tiara Investigations Mystery series. My detectives are former Georgia beauty queens, now “of a certain age.” They haven’t told their significant others about their agency, so they have to meet their clients at a local Cracker Barrel.

2. What is your writing process like? Do you thrive on routine or work spontaneously as the whim takes you?

Routine! I get cranky when I don’t write. And I have to get far enough away from home not to hear laundry calling me. You can find me most mornings at Panera’s. That’s where I am right now, actually. I guess anyone who is “self-employed,” has the same challenge. If I’m not careful, a day can pass without getting a word written, then another, then another. If I write in the morning, the rest of the day will usually go well.

3. What exciting moment or moments have made you realize that you were really an “author”?

Of course, there are the biggies like getting that first contract, autographing your first book for someone other than a family member, and seeing that readers in other countries are buying your books. But there’s also a sense of satisfaction when you realize you’re making different choices.

A few years ago I heard author Jefffrey Deaver (Lincoln Rhyme series, among others) compare being an author to being somebody who wrote a book. The latter goes to the movies during the week. And finds other ways to avoid the hard work. I have to say I was proud of myself when I started spending my time differently.

4. What do you do to spark up your creativity when you feel the well of inspiration is running dry?

I’m an outliner. Since I write light, humorous mysteries I need to be in that frame of mind – and most days I am. If not, I work on a section that requires heavy research. Then I start googling.

I love my characters and truly enjoy spending time with them, so it’s rarely a problem.

5. Who are some of your favorite authors and how do you feel they have influenced your desire to write?

I adore P. G. Wodehouse and E. F. Benson for the best in comedy. If you’re not familiar with E. F. Benson’s Lucia books, you’re in for a treat. He was one of the Queen Mum’s favorite authors and that’s good enough for me. I discovered the Lucia books just after my mother died, and they got me through a very dark time. I want my books to do that for readers.

Jane Austen is another favorite. I’m what is known as a “Janeite.” I’m in the Jane Austen Society of North America, JASNA. I think she was a brilliant writer and observer.

I’ve enjoyed this! Thanks for having me!

Lane and her dog, Abby

Lane and her dog, Abby

Yes, it was great fun, Lane :-). And folks, be sure to read her Tiara Investigations Mysteries, (click on the title to be taken to the DOMESTIC AFFAIRS Amazon link, and click around to find out about her other books). Do check out her Lane Stone Books website, Facebook and Twitter pages.

Toodles,

Barbara Jean

About Barbara Jean Coast

Barbara Jean Coast is the pen name of authors Andrea Taylor and Heather Shkuratoff. She is currently hard at work telling the cozy tales of the fictional town of Santa Lucia, loosely based on Santa Barbara in the late 50's, early 60's, known as The Poppy Cove Mysteries.
This entry was posted in Authors, books, Cozy Mysteries, Cozy Mystery Series, Indie Presses, Inspiration, Interviews, Readers, Reading, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

